Frequently Asked Questions

Username and password setup and troubleshooting

Your username is your email address (once you have successfully registered/verified your information within the GS1 US system).

You should contact your General User Administrator and have them unlock your account. If you don’t know who is a General User Administrator for your company, please contact us by completing this form.

No, your password is encrypted and can only be changed by you.

  1. Log in to the GS1 US User Portal with your username (email address) and password. 
  2. You can click Edit to change your name. 
  3. Click Save 

NOTE: If you are a General User Admin (i.e. you manage other users at your company), you will need to select your name from the user list after logging in to the User Portal. 

 You may change your password by clicking the “Forgot Password?” link on the login screen. 

Your password must be at least eight characters and contain at least one uppercase letter, one lowercase letter, and either one number or one special character. 

Your username is your email address.  If you need to change it, please click this link or call us at 937-435-3870. 

Click on “Forgot Password?” on the login screen, then enter your username (email address).  Within minutes you’ll get a password reset email from newusersetup@gs1us.org. Follow the instructions in the email to complete your password reset. 

Effective May 20, 2019 we have upgraded our user portal system.  We’ve done this to provide you with even better security and features.  For more information about this change, please visit https://www.gs1us.org/userportal

FAQs for General User Administrators


A User Administrator for the company will need to set the third-party user up as a user up in the GS1 US User Portal with the Product Create/Manage role for the user from the third party.

A sole user of the GS1 US tools is automatically given all available roles, including the ability to add users. If you are the sole user all you need to do is create your password. 

Yes. To modify the Product Create/Manage or Location Create/Manage role assignments, follow these steps: 

  1. Login to the GS1 US User Portal 
  2. From the User List, select the row of the user you want to remove the Product Create/Manage or Location Create/Manage role from 
  3. Select Edit Roles 
  4. Uncheck the box for Product Create/Manage or Location Create/Manage  
  5. Click Save to save your changes 
  6. Click your company name in the top left corner of the page. 
  7. Select the row of the user you want to add the Product Create/Manage or Location Create/Manage role to 
  8. Select Edit Roles 
  9. Check the box for Product Create/Manage or Location Create/Manage  
  10. Click Save  

Login to the GS1 US User Portal 

  1. Next to “Users”, change the dropdown from “Active” to “Pending” to view the pending users for your company. 
  2. From the User List, find the name of the user you want to resend the invitation to. 
  3. Click “Resend Invitation” in the row for that user. 
  4. After you resend an invitation to a user to your company, they will receive an email from newusersetup@gs1us.org so they can set up their account. Please be sure and remind the user to open this email right away since the link expires in seven days. This user will be considered a “Pending user” until they complete account setup.   
  1. Login to the GS1 US User Portal 
  2. From the User List, select the row of the user you want to edit 
  3. Select Edit Roles 
  4. You’ll see all available roles for that user.  To assign a role, check the empty check box.  To unassign a role, uncheck the purple box. 
  5. Click “Save” to save your changes.

 

FOR DATA HUB USERS ONLY: If a role cannot be checked, look for a zero in the “Remaining” column for that role. If a zero is present, this means that you have assigned the maximum users for your subscription.  You will need to either: 

  1. Remove the existing user from that role before adding a new user. You can view who is assigned this role by clicking on “View Users with this Role.” 
  2. Or you can upgrade your Data Hub subscription to add more users.  Once we’ve received your payment you can follow steps 1-4 above to assign that role to additional users. 

 

In the list of users, click the “i” icon next to the role name for a full description of that role. 

This message means that this user has already been assigned to another company in our system.  A user can be assigned to more than one company. 
 
To add this user to your company, click “Add to Current Company.” To cancel the request, click “Back to List.” 

  1. Log in to theGS1 US User Portal 
  2. Click Add New User 
  3. Enter the new user’s Email address 
  4. Confirm the new user’s Email address  
  5. Enter the new user’s First Name and Last Name 
  6. You’ll see a list of options to choose from. Assign the new user roles based on the access you want that user to have. 
  7. Click Add User 

Complete this process for each user you are adding. 

After you add a user to your company, they will receive an email from newusersetup@gs1us.org so they can set up their account. Please be sure and let the new user know to open this email right away since the link expires in seven days. This user will be considered a “Pending user” until they complete account setup.   

*NOTE: You can only add users to your company if you are a General User Admin.  You can tell if you’re a General User Admin if you see a list of users in the GS1 US User Portal. 

General Questions

GS1 US Data Hub® | Product is an online tool that takes the guesswork out of creating and managing barcodes. For all annual GS1 US prefix holders, one user per company can access the tool for free. To add additional users, click here.

GS1 US provides one free user per company for GS1 US Data Hub Product and Location with the annual authorized use of a GS1 Company Prefix. If you want a different user for Product than Location or to add additional users, complete the application (fees apply).

You will be able to modify your company information in our Company Profile Tool found on myGS1 US (https://members.gs1us.org). To do that, follow these steps:

  1. Access myGS1 US
  2. Login with your username and password
  3. Click My Account
  4. Click Edit Company Profile
  5. Make your changes
  6. Click Submit

All companies with an active GS1 Company Prefix have access to myGS1 US.  Your username is your email address and your password is one that you created.  If you’ve forgotten your password, click the “Forgot your password?” link on the log in screen.  If you are still having problems, click this link or call us at 937-435-3870. 

Contact your General User Administrator (the individual responsible for managing your GS1 US user accounts) and ask them to resend you an invitation. When they resend you the invitation, check your inbox for an email from newusersetup@gs1us.org.  If you don’t know who your General User Administrator is, click this link or call us at 937-435-3870.